Insights: Guidelines on Proportion by Patricia Morgado

 

Proportions

“Fashion is architecture: it is a matter of proportions.” Coco Chanel

This quote reflects one of the neatest aspects of fashion – fashion as architecture. I don’t think that Chanel was thinking about plus size fashion, but I do think that this is a hypothesis that can be used by anyone interested in fashion.   And just to make sure you know where I stand here, I’m not going to talk about the alleged “right” proportions for your body type because I think this is too limiting. What I’m about to discuss with you are some ideas on how to find balance with an outfit, no matter what type of body you do have.

The ideas on proportion I bring to you today are actually only two very simple concepts: tight-loose, loose- tight.

This basically means that when you wear something tight (or fitted) on the top, it’s a good idea to wear something looser on the bottom. And vice versa. Simple as that. For me it’s a great thing to keep in mind when I choose what to wear.

